Week #2

August 29th – September 2nd

In library hours: 7 hours

Out of library hours: 0

Total hours: 10/120

Week #2 gave me a chance to really dive into library work. Working through my planning period and trying to manage time after school is already proving difficult, but we push onward!

This week I worked with Ms. Grief, and our other LMS Mrs. Leslie Wright, on some of the ongoing projects that they are completing this semester. One of the projects that Ms. Grief is hoping to complete this year is genre “stickering” each of the fiction books in the collection. Until now they have been adding the genre stickers to new books as they come in and old books as students return them. One of the things that I have started doing is going through the shelved books and adding stickers to books that have not been checked out recently.

To complete this task I go to KYVL.Org and utilize their “Novel List” app. I put the book title in and search to find out the suggested genres for each book. If a book has more than one listed genre and more than one copy in the collection, we label them differently. However, if the book is part of a series, we make sure that all books in the series have the same genre sticker.

This task has taken up a large portion of my library time this week, however I have also gotten to work with students to help them select books based on interest and I have sat in on Ms. Grief’s presentations to Freshman classes. These presentation outline everything our library has to offer and how they should go about utilizing the library.

CEBS DISPOSITION OF THE WEEK: Values diversity –

Listens carefully to others and respects the views of those perceived as different from self.Values collaboration.

Actively seeks out and incorporates ideas of others.

Takes leadership in working with others to improve the overall environment.

Regularly share information and ideas

This week I can see my willingness to collaborate and incorporate the ideas of others in the tasks that I have completed. Both of the librarians that I am working with are a wealth of knowledge and I am enjoying seeking them out for recommendations and opinions. When genre stickering, the books are not always the genre I suspect and I have enjoyed conferencing with Mrs. Grief on these books in order to learn more and apply that knowledge.

Leave a Reply

