Week 12

November 7th – 11th

In-library hours:  3 hours                  Total in-library hours: 57/40

Out-of-library hours: 2 hours                 Total out-of-library hours: 65

Total hours: 122/120   

Well, this week was a short week in the library as I finished up my final hours. I mostly worked on book repair and ordering issues. Ms. Grief and Ms. Wright taught me how to properly take off the old stickers from a book, place book covers, and reapply updated stickers to the outside of the book before reshelving.

Ms. Grief also talked with me about how she prefers to buy from Permabound because they will always replace their books if anything becomes defective with the book over time. We looked at books that could be reordered and talked with their customer services representatives. img_7952IMG_7529.JPG

Outside of the library, I spent the latter part of my week with my journalism students at the National High School Journalism Convention in Indianapolis, Indiana. We had an amazing time and I was able to attend some sessions that specifically dealt with the freedom of speech and freedom of information. I was able to hear from so many great educators and find information that I could take back to my journalism program but also to my library. I think that pairing the two together could be a great partnership within our school.

While exploring Indy we ran accross a library within the park. The kids were so impressed with the “take-one-leave-one style” and they had never seen anything like it. They really want to add something like this to our downtown area. They think it would be a hit!

CEBS Disposition of the Week: Values diversity – Willingly works with others from different ability, race, gender, or ethnic groups. Welcomes feedback and interaction with others. Listens carefully to others and respects the views of those perceived as different from self.

The National High School Journalism Convention was the most diverse group of thinkers that I have ever been involved with. Each person has such a different and unique perspective of the world around them and that is what made them good writers and good educators. They had a way of telling a story that would truly place you in the shoes of people that you would have never thought you had a connection with. The most amazing part of it all is that these were young people – just high school students. I was blown away by the talent of the young people that encountered and how my own students shone brightly within that group as well. I think that they all learned a lot about diversity outside of our small town and they brought back a new perspective on their own writing and the world. I know that I did as well.

Leave a Reply

