What I’m Reading: Stalking Jack the Ripper

I tried to travel down a different road when choosing this book. Everything that I have read recently has been so lovely that I almost craved a chance to dive into something darker. When scanning the library for the dark and devious I stumbled upon “Stalking Jack the Ripper” by Kerri Maniscalco and honestly, what could be darker than a good Jack the Ripper book.

This book is great for anyone who likes historical fiction or a good “who done it” style book. I also love the strong female lead and how she breaks social norms and how she is a  trailblazer for females in science related fields.  However, I did struggle with the slow pace of the love story (due mostly to the antiquated times) and I wanted her to break through that social norm as well.

I also struggled with the predictability of the ending. I don’t want to give anything away, but I personally identified the killer within the first 50 pages of the book. I felt that the characters were too intelligent for it to take them so long to figure it all out.

Goodreads gave this book a 4/5 and I don’t know if I would agree with that. My favorite crime thriller in young adult fiction is the I Hunt Killer series. If I were to give that a 5/5 then I would give this a 2.5/5 in comparison.

Leave a Reply

